Welcome to the Bell Barn Photo Gallery

Main Site

4/22
Home / 50 - Lord Brassey Estates /

04 - St. John the Divine Anglican Church - 1905 magazine cover

St John the Divine - Korvemaker - 13 May 2015 003 - Copy.JPG 03 - <b>St. John the Divine Church and Bishop's Court</b>Thumbnails05 - <b>St John's Anglican Church, Indian Head</b> - 191203 - <b>St. John the Divine Church and Bishop's Court</b>Thumbnails05 - <b>St John's Anglican Church, Indian Head</b> - 191203 - <b>St. John the Divine Church and Bishop's Court</b>Thumbnails05 - <b>St John's Anglican Church, Indian Head</b> - 191203 - <b>St. John the Divine Church and Bishop's Court</b>Thumbnails05 - <b>St John's Anglican Church, Indian Head</b> - 191203 - <b>St. John the Divine Church and Bishop's Court</b>Thumbnails05 - <b>St John's Anglican Church, Indian Head</b> - 1912

Located south of the Canadian Pacific Railway line, St. John's Church was intended to become the focus for a new community to be called "Brassey". Several residences and a creamery were erected nearby, but for most of the years the church and Bishop's Court were the most prominent structures in this area.

Due to the awkward location of the church in relation to the rest of the Town of Indian Head, a new St. John's Church (initially called Grisdale Hall) was constructed north of the CPR tracks in 1912, and the picturesque church south of the tracks was demolished.

SOURCES:

Indian Head history: p. 112-113.

"The Parish Magazine", No. 4, Vol. 7, Dec. 1905

RESEARCH BY:

Margaret Hryniuk, Regina, Saskatchewan; and Frank Korvemaker, Regina, Sask.