Welcome to the Bell Barn Photo Gallery

Main Site

Home / 10 - Bell Farm History / 450 - Grand Canadian Pacific Railway Company Tour - August 1883 4

On August 20, 1883, the management of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company, headquartered in Montreal, Quebec, left on a grand tour of the new railway then under construction in western Canada.  Including various dignitaries, the party came to 66 people, plus staff to cater to their daily needs and keep the train operational from Winnipeg to the Rocky Mountains.

According to the St. Paul, Minnesota, Sunday Globe for August 26, 1883: "The company are accommodated in three handsome Pullman cars, three Canadian Pacific official and one baggage car making up a train of seven carriages." - plus an engine and coal car.

Among those who travelled on this major CPR Executive Tour were the following: 

Hon. Donald A. Smith (Montreal); Alexander Staveley Hill, MP; Matthew Henry Cochrane (Senator/ Ottawa); Hon. Adams George Archibald - Nova Scotia; Hon. G.A. Kirkpatrick MP, Speaker of the House of Commons; Herman Ernest, Prince of Hohenlohe-Langenburg (nephew of Queen Victoria and brother of Count Gleichen); Lord Castletown; Theodore Robitaille, Lieutenant-Governor of Quebec; Howard Potter - New York banking firm of Brown Brothers and Co.; George Bliss - New York banking firm of Morton, Bliss and Co.; Hon. St. John Brodrick, MP (William St John Freemantle Brodrick); Professor Pierce Adolphus Simpson (University of Glasgow, Scotland); Pascoe du P. Grenfell (London) - CPR Director/ partner of Morton, Bliss and Co.; Colonel Egerton (London); W. Donaldson (Glasgow); A. McClellan (Glasgow); J.G. Sibbald (New York); William Armit - Secretary of the Hudson Bay Co.; Sir William Cornelius Van Horne (Montreal) - CPR general manager; Sir George Stephen Montreal) -  President of CPR; Count Gleichen (brother of Prince Hohenlohe of Prussia and nephew to Queen Victoria); Edward Bootle Wilbraham, Earl of Lathom; Col. C.B. Kingscote, M.P. (England); Lord William Buller Fullerton Elphinstone; Charles Francis Smithers (Montreal) -  Pres. Bank of Montreal; Duncan McIntyre - 1st VP of the CPR; Richard B. Angus - 2nd VP of the CPR; Thomas Edward Kenney (Halifax); James B. Duffus (Halifax); Sir John Waldron (England); T. Reynolds (London); H. McDonald; C. Cassils; J. Jones ; B. Cutt; A. Cassils; Rev. Canon Anson (Anglican Archbishop of Assiniboia); Hon. C. Anson (Montreal); J.B. Hamilton (Essex, England).